Center for Volunteerism

Federation is a philanthropic organization that takes care of Jews in need and strengthens Jewish community in New Jersey, Israel, and around the world. Need advice in choosing a mitzvah project that has meaning for you? Federation can help! Our organization connects you to 4 overseas and 27 local agencies.


Responding to emergency and disaster situations locally and around the world is an important part of the Federation mission, and made possible by our infrastructure and the generosity of members of the Greater MetroWest community who continue to donate their time and money in an extraordinary demonstration of chesed (kindness) and tikkun olam (repairing the world). 

Upcoming Events

  • Summer Mitzvah Mania

    August 19-29
    Mitzvah Mania refers to the Jewish Service Learning projects run by JTEEN in the Greater MetroWest area. All Mitzvah Mania projects combine productive, hands-on service projects with relevant Jewish learning.

  • Volunteer Pop-Up

    Wednesday, August 21 • 4-5:30 p.m.
    Sort, pack, and create back-to-school goodie bags for students in the public schools in Newark. This is a great activity for parents and children to do together!

  • VolunTEAMS

    VolunTEAMS are groups of individuals who will collectively offer hands-on assistance to agencies throughout Greater MetroWest. Flexible scheduling will accomodate your availability.


Contact Us

Lindsay Norman
Center For Volunteerism / NextDor Manager
lnorman@jfedgmw.org
(973) 929-2948


 

 

Agency Listing

To reach an agency directly for volunteer placements, please contact the following individuals:

Daughters of Israel
Eve Goldberg • (973) 400-3360 • egoldberg@doigc.org

Friendship Circle
Toba Grossbaum • (973) 251-0204 • toba@fcnj.com

JCC MetroWest
Susan Galatz • (973) 530-3447 • sgalatz@jccmetrowest.org

Jewish Family Service of Central NJ
Elie Bodner • (908) 352-8375 • ebodner@jfscentralnj.org
Amy Levine • (908) 352-8375 • ALevine@Jfscentralnj.org

Jewish Family Service of MetroWest
Suzy Berman • (973) 637-1747 • sberman@jfsmetrowest.org

Jewish Community Housing Corporation
Laurie Loughny • (973) 530-3962 • lauriel@jchcorp.org

Jewish Service for the Developmentally Disabled (JSDD)
Linda Press • (973) 272-7141 • lpress@jsddmetrowest.org

Jewish Relief Agency
Boruch Hecht • boruch@jewishrelief.org

Jewish Vocational Service
(973) 674-6330

Rachel Coalition
Sylvia Heller • (973) 637-1708 • sheller@jfsmetrowest.org

For Adults 55+ RSVP
Essex County - Contact Suzy Berman, JFS MetroWest • (973) 637-1747 • sberman@jfsmetrowest.org
Union County - Contact Amy Levine, JFS of Central NJ • (908) 352-8375 • alevine@Jfscentralnj.org