October 23, 2023

Thank These Elected Officials for Signing Israel Statement

Linda Scherzer JCRC Director

We are deeply grateful to our New Jersey Congressional delegation for standing shoulder to shoulder with Israel during these difficult times. Our thanks to Senators Cory Booker and Bob Menendez, Representatives Mikie Sherrill, Tom Kean, Jr., Rob Menendez, Donald Payne, Jr., and Josh Gottheimer for their principled support.

We also express our gratitude to Governor Phil Murphy and Lt. Governor Tahesha way for standing with Israel and New Jersey’s Jewish community.

Here is a list of state senators, assemblymen and women, and local mayors from our catchment area (Essex, Morris, Union, Sussex, and Somerset counties) who have signed on to our statement. We encourage community members to contact their elected officials to thank them for their support. Suggested messaging is:

I’m writing with deep appreciation that you signed on to the recent statement of the Jewish Community Relations Council (JCRC) of the Jewish Federation of Greater MetroWest NJ showing your support to the local Jewish community and Israel. At this difficult time, when we worry for the safety of our friends and family in Israel and the well-being of over 220 hostages, it means so much to have you stand with us. Thank you for your unequivocal support.

This list is still in formation, and will be updated again in the days ahead.


We stand together, horrified by the massacre waged by Hamas terrorists against Israeli men, women and children on October 7. We pray for the safe return of the men, women and children who were kidnapped and taken hostage by Hamas. We stand with our Jewish community, reeling from this tremendous loss of life and safety. We support Israel’s right to self-defense and come together to work for and pray for the safety of all in the region and the eradication of terror. No one should have to live in fear.

Senator Jon Bramnick (LD-21)
Senator Anthony M. Bucco (LD-25)
Senator Richard J. Codey (LD-27)
Senator Kristin M. Corrado (LD-40)
Senator Joseph P. Cryan (LD-20)
Senator Steve Oroho (LD-24)
Senator Joseph Pennacchio (LD-26)
Senator Nicholas P. Scutari (LD-22)
Assemblyman Reginald Atkins (LD-20)
Assemblyman Christian E. Barranco (LD-26)
Assemblywoman Aura K. Dunn (LD-25)
Assemblywoman Mila Jasey (LD-27)
Assemblywoman Michele Matsikoudis (LD-21)
Assemblyman John F. McKeon (LD-27)
Assemblywoman Nancy Muñoz (LD-21)
Assemblywoman Annette Quijano (LD-20)
Assemblyman Parker Space (LD-24)
Assemblyman Hal Wirths (LD-24)
Assemblyman Jay Webber (LD-26)
Mayor Angie D. Devanney, Berkeley Heights Township
Mayor Andrew J. McNally, Bernards Township
Mayor Mary Jane Canose, Bernardsville
Mayor Matthew C. Moench, Bridgewater Township
Mayor Kerry Peterson, Township of Cedar Grove
Mayor Thaddeus J. Kobylarz, Chatham Borough
Mayor Ashley Felice, Chatham Township
Mayor Michael Inganamort, Chester Township
Mayor Sal Bonaccorso, Township of Clark
Mayor Brian Andrews, Cranford Township
Mayor Carolyn Blackman, Dover
Mayor Joseph Pannullo, Township of East Hanover
Mayor Edward A. Davis, Borough of Essex Fells
Mayor Mark Taylor, Borough of Florham Park
Mayor Jen Blumenstock, Borough of Garwood
Mayor Jim Van Arsdale, Green Brook Township
Mayor Thomas “Ace” Gallagher, Township of Hanover
Mayor Linda Karlovitch, Borough of Kenilworth
Mayor Derek Armstead, City of Linden
Mayor Michael Vieira, Livingston Township
Mayor Dean Dafis, Township of Maplewood
Mayor Christine Serrano Glassner, Borough of Mendham
Mayor Maggee Miggins, Millburn Township
Mayor Matt Kayne, Montville Township
Mayor Mark Gyorfy, Township of Morris
Mayor Timothy Dougherty, Town of Morristown
Mayor Josh Raymond, Borough of North Caldwell
Mayor Lou Nisivoccia, Township of Randolph
Mayor James R. Spango, Borough of Roseland
Mayor Joshua G. Losardo, Township of Scotch Plains
Village President Sheena Collum, South Orange Village
Mayor Chris Capodice, Township of Springfield
Mayor Joseph Tempesta Jr., West Caldwell
Mayor Shelley Brindle, Town of Westfield
Mayor Susan McCartney, Township of West Orange
Deputy Mayor Deborah Engel, Township of Maplewood
Deputy Mayor/Former Mayor Sarah Neibart, Mendham Township
Deputy Mayor William “Bud” Ravitz, Township of Morris
Deputy Mayor for Public Outreach Cathy Wilson, Township of Morris
Deputy Mayor Alexander Keiser, Township of Springfield
Former Mayor/Current Committeeman Jeff Grayzel, Township of Morris
Former Mayor/Current Committeeman Victor DeLuca, Township of Maplewood
Councilman Benjamin Weisman, Boonton
Councilwoman Carolyn Dempsey, Chatham Borough
Councilwoman Irene Treloar, Chatham Borough
Committeeman Michael Choi, Chatham Township
Committeewoman Stacey Ewald, Chatham Township
Councilman Patrick J. Antonetti, Borough of Lincoln Park
Councilwoman Rosy Bagolie, Livingston Township
Councilman Edward Meinhardt, Livingston Township
Councilwoman Amalia Duarte, Mendham Township
Councilor Lori Price Abrams, Township of Montclair
Committeewoman Donna Guariglia, Township of Morris
Councilmember Joan Goddard, Borough of Morris Plains
Councilmember Nancy Verga, Borough of Morris Plains
Council President Sandi Mayer, Town of Morristown
Council VP Nathan Umbriac, Town of Morristown
Councilmember Cynthia Korman, Borough of Mountain Lakes
Councilmember Helene Elbaum, Township of Randolph
Councilmember Mark H. Forstenhauser, Township of Randolph
Councilmember Joe Hathaway, Township of Randolph
Councilman Manny Friedlander, Rockaway Township
Councilman Jonathan Sackett, Rockaway Township
Councilmember Matthew S. Adams, Township of Scotch Plains
Councilmember Elizabeth Stamler, Township of Scotch Plains
Trustee/Council Jennifer Greenberg, South Orange Village
Committeeman Richard Huber, Township of Springfield
Committeeman Harris Laufer, Township of Springfield
Committeeman Chris Weber, Township of Springfield
Councilman David Contract, Town of Westfield
Councilman Mike Dardia, Town of Westfield
Councilwoman Linda Habgood, Town of Westfield
Councilman Scott Katz, Town of Westfield
Councilman Mark LoGrippo, Town of Westfield
Councilwoman Dawn Mackey, Town of Westfield
Councilman Mark Parmelee, Town of Westfield
Councilwoman Emily Root, Town of Westfield