May 9, 2024

Celebrating our Community Leaders

At this year’s Federation Annual Meeting on Thursday, May 30, we will bring our Centennial year celebration to a close and honor a few stellar community leaders.  

The President’s Bamberger Award will be presented to Jane Wilf, in recognition of her service as Centennial Chair and her commitment to the Greater MetroWest community. The Julius and Bessie Cohn Young Leadership Award recipients are Elana Wilf Tanzman and Arielle Welt. We will also honor and thank for their service outgoing Jewish Community Foundation President Steven D. Levy and outgoing Women’s Philanthropy president Deborah Jacob. 

The prestigious President’s Bamberger Award is named for Federation founder Louis Bamberger. Jewish Federation of Greater MetroWest NJ has created this award in his name to honor an individual who has demonstrated the qualities of leadership, philanthropy, and dedicated service to our Jewish community. 

Jane Wilf, a long-time Federation leader and community activist, serves on the boards of Jewish Federation of Greater MetroWest NJ, The Jewish Museum, Hillel International, the Norton Museum of Art, the Community Food Bank of New Jersey and the Wilf Family Foundations. She is a member of the White House Historical Association, and the Guggenheim Museum’s International Circle as well as an advisory committee member of the Jewish Federation of Palm Beach County’s Center for Combatting Antisemitism. Jane was honored to chair Greater MetroWest’s 2018 CommUNITY Mission to Israel and has chaired Greater MetroWest’s Centennial since 2019. Jane was also the co-chair of the 2021 International Lion of Judah Conference in Washington, D.C.  

The Julius and Bessie Cohn Young Leadership Award is presented each year to two young Greater MetroWest leaders who have displayed growth and tremendous potential for future leadership in the community. 

Elana Wilf Tanzman is the outgoing chair of the Center for Volunteerism and sits on the Welcoming & Inclusion Task Force. She is also a member of the National Young Leadership Cabinet, the Women’s Philanthropy Board, and the NextGen Leadership Team. Elana began her involvement with Federation in the Borinsky Young Leadership Program, which she later co-chaired. Elana grew up in a “Federation Family,” and has always been inspired by the commitment of her grandparents, parents, and many other relatives to building a strong and vibrant Jewish community in New Jersey and beyond. In addition to her Federation involvement, Elana is on the Board of Trustees of NJ LEEP, a college access and success program serving students and families in the greater Newark area. Elana is also a proud Golda Och Academy parent and volunteer.  She is an active member of the Board of Trustees of the Wilf Family Foundations.  

Arielle Welt is the current co-chair of NextGen and joined Federation’s Board of Trustees in 2023. Over the past few years, she has jumped in headfirst into her Federation involvement, participating in Borinsky Young Leadership, NextGen, Women’s Philanthropy, as well as the Moonshot and the Impact Committees. Arielle is also on the National Young Leadership Cabinet and the Women’s Philanthropy Board. She has prioritized our Federation’s need to meet the interests of her peers and build a women’s philanthropy for her generation. Most notably, she was part of the team that spearheaded and visioned the ShopBack – which has become a signature event for our organization. Arielle also participated in a solidarity mission to Israel in 2022. She has been described by her peers as “polished, “humble,” “a natural leader,” and someone who brings out the best in others. Arielle has a strong focus on customer experience – and brings that lens to everything she touches.   

Community members are invited to attend the Annual Meeting on Thursday, May 30 for a light bites reception at 6:30 and the program/meeting at 7:15. Click here to register for this special event and/or to send digital tributes to the awardees.